The World Heritage Area of Nepal

The World Heritage Area of Nepal

The World Heritage Area of Nepal

In this article, we’re gonna talk about the World Heritage area of Nepal. The UNESCO, World Heritage Areas are listed on Nepal’s various heritage (cultural and natural). Under the cultural heritage, there are seven monument areas (three historic palaces, two Buddhist stupas, and two Hindu temple monuments) within the Kathmandu Valley and Chitwan and Sagarmatha National Parks under Lumbini and Natural Heritage. The Valley Heritage was listed by UNESCO in the World Heritage Area in 1979.

Kathmandu Darbar Area

This area is in the middle of Kathmandu city. Also known as Hanumandhoka, the historic buildings and temples in this palace area were built from Raja Ratna Mall to Prithviravikram Shah’s time. Important monuments in that area are the Teleju Temple, Jagannath Temple, Shiva Parvati Temple, Great Hour, Kalbhairav, Majudeval, Kumari Ghar, Basantapur Durbar and other main attractions.

Patan Durbar area

Most of the monuments in the Patan Durbar area, known as the city of art, were built from the 16th to the 18th centuries. Most were built by Raja Siddinar Singh, Srinivas, and Yoganendra Malla. The main attractions are Mulchowk, Sundarichowk, Manikeshvanarayan Chowk, Bhimsen Temple, Krishna Temple, Taleju Temple, Kumbeshwar. Views of Ramayana and Mahabharata are carved around the Krishna temple built of stone.

Bhaktapur Durbar area

The Singh Gate, the Golden Gate, the Chardham, the 7th Palace, the Toumady, Nyatpole Temple, Dattatreya Temple, Pujarimath, etc. are worth seeing. The main monuments here include the Lion Gate, the Golden Gate, the Chardham, the Pachpan Jhaya Durbar, the Taumadhi, the Nyatpole Temple, the Dattatraya Temple, the Pujari Math, the Bhupatendra Mall, etc. The palatial palace was built in the Raja Yaksha Mall of the time and was rebuilt in the seventeenth century, during the time of King Bhupatendra Malla. The art museum is another notable place here.

Pashupatinath Temple

The Pashupatinath Temple, which is the holy place of Hindus around the world, has been built in the pagoda style. It is believed that after completing the philosophy of the four dams of India, the philosophy of Chardham would be fulfilled only after the visit of Pashupatinath.


The most famous Buddhist temple and Chaitya is the Swayambhunath, located at the foot of Padmakant Giri hill on the west side of Kathmandu valley. After crossing 360 ladders, one can reach the majestic of Swayambhunath. There is a lot of spontaneity in the autonomous region created during the Lichvikal period.


Located in the Baudha t Kathmandu, the 5 meters tall Buddhist Nath stupa is one of the largest stupas in South Asia. The Boudhanath Stupa, which is in the shape of a circle, was built in the fifth century. It was restored in the eighth century. The construction of a Buddhist monastery in the fifth century, ie Lichvikal, is said to have taken 12 years.

Changunarayan Temple

The facts about the construction of Changunarayan, which is the temple of Lord Vishnu, have not been found to date. Changunarayan is said to have been built as a temple of Vishnu in the fourth century. The inscription here indicates that this temple is one of the old temples of Kathmandu valley. The stones, wood, and metal are exemplary here. Among the notable arts are Bishwarupa, Vishnu Vikrant, Narasimha Vishnu, etc.


The place where the Buddha was born  623 BC In Lumbini. The main heritage of Lumbini, about 300 km south-west of Kathmandu, contains the Mayadevi temple, Ashoka pillar, Shakya Pushkar search inquiry, etc. There are different Buddhist stupas built here. It also includes a research and research center.

Chitwan National Park

Established in 1973, the park can be visited by wildlife and hundreds of species of plants. This national park on the plains of Tarai is the first national park in Nepal. Spread over an area of 932 sq km, it is one of the protected areas of Asia. The Chitwan National Park, rich in flora and fauna, is the most important habitat for rare animals, such as the patebagh, a horned rhinoceros, ghadial crocodile, etc.


Everest National Park

Established in 1976, in the Solukhumbu district of Eastern Nepal’s Everest region, this park also has the highest peak in the world. Within this park, snow peaks such as Lhotse, Nupse, Cho Oyu, Lhotsar, Pumori, Maidbalam, Thamserku are more than six thousand meters high. Kasturi deer, Himalayan bears, Thar, Ghorl, Jharal, etc. are the main wildlife here.


Read More please click here 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *